At a glance: intensive money-laundering supervision

FINMA’s strategic aim is to have a long-term positive influence on institutions’ conduct in preventing money laundering. It therefore makes concerted efforts in the areas of supervision and enforcement to prevent money laundering.

On-site supervisory reviews aimed at preventing money laundering

Each year, FINMA performs more than 30 on-site reviews on the issue of preventing money laundering. These on-site reviews comprise longer supervisory reviews as well as shorter, selective engagements, also known as “deep dives”.


Enforcement investigations and proceedings

A major part of FINMA’s enforcement activities relates to the issue of combating money laundering. When FINMA has reason to believe there has been a breach of supervisory law, it may conduct an enforcement investigation. If FINMA considers that supervisory law has been breached and there is no other way to restore a normal state of affairs, it must initiate enforcement proceedings.


Criminal charges based on contravention of the AMLA

In the event of criminal breaches of supervisory law (in particular, breaches of reporting obligations under Art. 9 AMLA or activities being carried out without the required licence), FINMA will bring charges.


Progress in combating money laundering

In recent years, Swiss financial intermediaries have identified an increasing number of suspicious clients, which they have reported to the MROS. Financial intermediaries have also been able to report more clients on account of their own transaction monitoring processes (source for following figures: MROS). Under the regulations, financial intermediaries have a certain scope to structure their own transaction monitoring systems; however, these have to be effective.


 

(From the Annual Report 2018)

En bref : surveillance intensive en matière de blanchiment d’argent

La FINMA a pour objectif stratégique d’exercer une influence positive durable sur le comportement commercial des établissements dans la prévention du blanchiment d’argent. C’est la raison pour laquelle elle s’engage résolument en faveur de la prévention du blanchiment d’argent dans le cadre de son activité de surveillance et d’enforcement.

Contrôles sur place dans le domaine de la prévention du blanchiment d’argent

La FINMA réalise chaque année plus de 30 contrôles sur place consacrés à la thématique de la prévention du blanchiment d’argent. Ces contrôles sur place comprennent des supervisory reviews relativement longues ainsi que des interventions ponctuelles plus brèves, nommées deep dives.

 

Investigations et procédures d’enforcement

Une part considérable des activités d'enforcement de la FINMA concerne la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent. Lorsque la FINMA décèle des indices signalant une violation du droit de la surveillance, elle peut procéder à des investigations d’enforcement. Si elle présume une violation de ce droit et que l’ordre légal ne peut être rétabli autrement, elle doit engager une procédure d’enforcement.


Dénonciations pénales pour cause de violation punissable des dispositions de la LBA

Lors de violations punissables au droit de la surveillance (notamment la violation de l’obligation de communiquer selon l’art. 9 LBA ou l’exercice d’une activité sans l’autorisation requise), la FINMA dépose une dénonciation pénale.


Progrès dans la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent

Ces dernières années, les intermédiaires financiers suisses ont détecté et déclaré davantage de clients suspects au MROS. Le monitorage personnel des transactions des intermédiaires financiers a contribué à l’annonce d’un plus grand nombre de clients (source des chiffres suivants : MROS). La réglementation laisse de la marge de manoeuvre aux intermédiaires financiers dans la conception de leur monitorage, mais elle en exige un usage efficace.

 

 

(Extraits du rapport annuel 2018)