How FINMA is organised

FINMA is organised into eight divisions. The strategic management of the supervisory authority is performed by the Board of Directors. Responsibility for operational management lies with the Executive Board.
FINMA was established in 2009 from its three predecessor institutions: the Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC), the Federal Office of Private Insurance (FOPI) and the Anti-Money Laundering Control Authority (AMLCO). In establishing FINMA, the legislator transferred responsibility for financial market supervision to an integrated authority.

Board of Directors and Executive Board

FINMA, an independent supervisory authority, has a modern management structure with a board of directors, an executive board and an external auditor in the form of the Swiss Federal Audit Office (SFAO).

As FINMA's strategic management body and in accordance with the Financial Market Supervision Act, the Board of Directors comprises seven to nine independent expert members. It decides on matters of substantial importance, issues ordinances and circulars, and is responsible for FINMA's budget. It also ensures internal controls by means of an internal audit unit and oversees the Executive Board.

The operative business is managed by the Executive Board, which is made up of nine members: a chief executive officer and the eight heads of the respective divisions. The Executive Board prepares the necessary files and materials for decisions to be taken by the Board of Directors and is responsible for implementing the resolutions of this management body. For all matters that do not fall to the Board of Directors, the Executive Board reaches its own decisions.

Corporate governance

As a counterbalance to FINMA's independence, it has been made accountable to and is subject to the overall political supervision of the Federal Government. It is of vital importance to FINMA that its staff and third parties acting on its behalf conduct themselves with integrity and refrain from any activity that could jeopardise its image and credibility. FINMA has its own Personnel Ordinance and has issued a code of conduct. The latter sets out strict instructions, particularly with regard to the handling of conflicts of interest that may arise in connection with activities carried out on FINMA's behalf. This code of conduct is directed at all persons acting for FINMA, namely the Board of Directors and all staff members, whether they are employed on either a permanent or temporary basis.

Headcount

In 2015, FINMA employed an average of 527 employees, across 494 full-time equivalent positions.

Its staff comprise a broad range of specialists working together on an interdisciplinary basis. FINMA employs specialists from the fields of law, economics, mathematics, auditing, the actuarial profession, accounting and investment, among others.


Average headcount

Average headcount

Since 2009, FINMA has registered similarly strong growth to that of other European financial market supervisory authorities. This growth can be attributed to greater regulatory requirements in the aftermath of the financial crisis between 2007 and 2008 and to the professionalisation of the supervisory sector, for instance with the introduction of the risk-based supervisory approach. FINMA invests the majority of its resources in its core tasks of licensing, supervision and enforcement.

Organisation de la FINMA

La FINMA s’organise autour de huit divisions. La conduite stratégique de l'autorité est assurée par un conseil d'administration. La responsabilité opérationnelle incombe à la direction.
La FINMA est née en 2009 du regroupement de trois autorités qu'elle a remplacées: la Commission fédérale des banques (CFB), l'Office fédéral des assurances privées (OFAP) et l'Autorité de contrôle en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent (AdC LBA). Le législateur a ainsi transféré la surveillance du marché financier à une autorité intégrée.

Conseil d'administration et direction

La FINMA, autorité de surveillance indépendante, est dotée d'une structure de gouvernance moderne comprenant un conseil d'administration, une direction et un organe de révision externe, le Contrôle fédéral des finances (CDF).

Organe stratégique de la FINMA, le conseil d'administration se compose, en vertu de la loi sur la surveillance des marchés financiers, de sept à neuf membres experts et indépendants. Il statue sur les affaires de grande portée, édicte des ordonnances et des directives et approuve le budget de la FINMA. Il assure également le contrôle interne via l’audit interne et supervise la direction.

Les activités opérationnelles sont conduites par la direction qui compte neuf membres: un directeur et les chefs des huit divisions. La direction élabore les bases de décision pour le conseil d'administration et veille à la mise en œuvre des décisions de ce dernier. La direction statue elle-même sur toutes les affaires qui ne sont pas transmises au conseil d'administration pour décision.

Gouvernance d'entreprise

En contrepartie de son indépendance, la FINMA a l'obligation de rendre compte de son activité et est soumise à la haute surveillance politique de la Confédération. La FINMA est très attachée à ce que ses collaborateurs fassent preuve d'intégrité et s'abstiennent de tout comportement susceptible de nuire à sa réputation et à sa crédibilité. La FINMA possède sa propre ordonnance sur le personnel et a édicté un code de conduite qui prescrit des règles strictes, notamment en ce qui concerne la gestion des conflits d'intérêts pouvant résulter d'une activité au sein de la FINMA. Il concerne toutes les personnes qui travaillent pour la FINMA, y compris les membres du conseil d'administration ainsi que les collaborateurs fixes et temporaires.

Personnel

En 2016, 513 collaborateurs en moyenne travaillaient à la FINMA, pour 477 équivalents plein temps.

Le personnel se compose d'un large éventail de spécialistes qui collaborent dans une perspective interdisciplinaire. Ces spécialistes sont juristes, économistes, mathématiciens, experts-comptables, actuaires, professionnels de la comptabilité et des placements, etc.


Effectif moyen du personnel

 

Effectif moyen du personnel

 

Depuis 2009, la FINMA n'a cessé de croître à l'instar des autres autorités européennes de surveillance des marchés financiers. Cette croissance est due, d'une part, au renforcement des exigences légales dans le sillage de la crise financière de 2007 et de 2008 et, d'autre part, à la professionnalisation de la surveillance, par exemple par l'introduction d'un nouveau concept de surveillance axé sur les risques. La FINMA investit l'essentiel de ses moyens dans ses trois missions principales que sont l'autorisation, la surveillance et l'enforcement.