Dossier on cyber risks

Cyber risks are one of the most significant operational risks facing financial institutions. FINMA is therefore looking closely at the issue and has increased the intensity of its supervision. This page provides key information on this topic.
From the Annual Report 2021

Findings from cyber supervision 2021

During the year under review, successful cyber attacks on established companies from all industry sectors, both in Switzerland and the rest of the world, were reported in the headline news. FINMA has also observed an increasing number of reported cyber attacks. Since the entry into force, in September 2020, of the clarifications on the duty to report cyber attacks, as published in FINMA Guidance 05/2020, a total of 95 cyber attacks of substantial importance for the affected institutions have been reported. The worst-affected institutions were banks, followed by asset managers and insurance companies.

To the content
From the Risk monitor 2021

Cyber risks 2021

The coronavirus pandemic has given an extra boost to digitalisation. However, greater digitalisation also increases the dependency on information communication technologies, which can give rise to significant vulnerabilities at Swiss financial institutions. For example, IT system outages and disruptions, particularly those resulting from cyberattacks, can jeopardise the availability, confidentiality and integrity of critical services and functions. Depending on the nature of the cyberattack in question, this can have repercussions not only for individual financial institutions but on the functioning of the Swiss financial centre as a whole. The pandemic has increased these vulnerabilities, as the proliferation of working from home has opened up new weak spots for attackers, for example. Risk therefore remains high in this area.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2020

New cyber supervisory approach and guidance

Dependency on information and communications technologies continued to rise in 2020. This was driven by the digitalisation strategies pursued by the supervised institutions and was intensified even further by the pandemic-driven extensive shifts towards home-office working. This dependency has rendered financial institutions increasingly vulnerable to cyber attacks. FINMA therefore assessed this risk to be even higher than in the previous year. It considers it to be one of the seven top risks faced by the Swiss financial centre.

To the content
From the Risk monitor 2020

Cyber risks 2020

The high and ever-growing dependency on and interconnectivity of information and communication technologies gives rise to pronounced vulnerabilities among Swiss financial institutions. For example, outages of and disruptions to IT systems, particularly those resulting from cyberattacks, can jeopardise the availability, confidentiality and integrity of critical services and functions. Depending on the nature of the cyberattack in question, this can have repercussions not only for individual financial institutions but on the functioning of the Swiss financial centre as a whole. The corona pandemic has increased this vulnerability as many employees of financial institutions are working away from their office, thus opening up new potential weak points for attackers.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2019

Cyber risks in supervision 2019

Technological progress and the latest trends have led to FINMA stepping up its supervision of cyber risks. These risks are monitored directly, for example through focused on-site audits by FINMA, and monitored by audit firms as part of the regulatory audit process.

To the content
From the Risk monitor 2019

Cyber risks

The high and ever-growing dependency on and interconnectivity of information and communication technologies give rise to pronounced vulnerabilities among Swiss financial institutions. For example, outages of and disruptions to IT systems, particularly those resulting from cyberattacks, can jeopardise the availability of critical services and functions.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2018

Cyber risks are a priority for FINMA’s supervisory activities

Cyberrisiken

Supervision is focusing on technology-driven risks such as the threat of cyber attacks and the risks associated with outsourcing.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2016

At a glance: the threat of cyber attacks

Swiss banks must guard their infrastructure against various types of attack. In addition to phishing, malware and disruption to the availability of computers, the debilitating scenarios Swiss financial institutions face are growing ever more sophisticated and complex.

To the content

Backgroundimage

Dossier cyberrisques

Les cyberrisques font partie des principaux risques opérationnels des établissements financiers. La FINMA s’en occupe donc intensivement et elle a renforcé sa surveillance en conséquence. Cette page résume les principales informations sur ce sujet.
Extraits du rapport annuel 2021

Enseignements issus de la cybersurveillance 2021

Des cyberattaques visant des entreprises établies dans tous les secteurs ont fait les gros titres en Suisse et dans le monde. La FINMA a aussi constaté une hausse des cyberattaques annoncées. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur des précisions sur l’obligation d’annoncer les cyberattaques, publiées dans la communication sur la surveillance 05/2020 en septembre 2020, 95 actes ayant des conséquences significatives pour les assujettis concernés ont été signalés. Les banques ont été les plus touchées, suivies par les gestionnaires de fortune et les assurances.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du Monitorage des risques 2021

Cyberrisques 2021

La pandémie de coronavirus a donné un élan supplémentaire à la numérisation. Mais avec la numérisation croît aussi la dépendance vis-à-vis des technologies de l’information et de la communication, laquelle peut conduire, chez des établissements financiers suisses, à des vulnérabilités marquées. Par exemple, si des systèmes informatiques venaient à dysfonctionner, notamment suite à des cyberattaques, cela pourrait nuire à la disponibilité, à la confidentialité et à l’intégrité de services et fonctions critiques. Selon la nature des cyberattaques, cela peut avoir des conséquences non seulement pour les différents établissements financiers, mais aussi sur le bon fonctionnement de l’ensemble de la place financière suisse. La pandémie de coronavirus a renforcé ces vulnérabilités, par exemple parce que l’augmentation du télétravail crée de nouvelles vulnérabilités potentielles pour les pirates. Le risque demeure donc élevé.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2020

Nouveau concept de cybersurveillance et communication sur la surveillance

La dépendance envers les technologies de l’information et de la communication a continué d’augmenter en 2020. Elle a été stimulée par les stratégies de numérisation des assujettis et encore renforcée par le passage au télétravail à large échelle en raison de la pandémie. Cette dépendance a accru la vulnérabilité des établissements financiers face aux cyberattaques. La FINMA a par conséquent évalué ce risque comme étant plus élevé que l’année précédente. Elle le considère comme l’un des sept risques principaux menaçant la place financière suisse.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du Monitorage des risques 2020

Cyberrisques 2020

Les technologies de l’information et de la communication sont fortement, et toujours plus, connectées et donc interdépendantes, ce qui est synonyme pour les établissements financiers suisses de vulnérabilités aiguës. Par exemple, si des systèmes informatiques venaient à dysfonctionner notamment suite à des cyberattaques, cela pourrait nuire à la disponibilité, à la confidentialité et à l’intégrité de services et fonctions critiques. Selon la nature des cyberattaques, cela peut avoir des conséquences non seulement pour les différents établissements financiers, mais aussi sur la capacité de fonctionnement de toute la place financière suisse. La pandémie de COVID-19 a encore accentué ces fragilités, car de nombreux collaborateurs d’établissements financiers travaillent en dehors des bureaux et créent ainsi de nouvelles vulnérabilités potentielles pour les pirates.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2019

Les cyberrisques dans la surveillance 2019

L’évolution technologique et les dernières tendances ont incité la FINMA à renforcer ses ressources affectées à la surveillance des cyberrisques, lesquels sont surveillés directement, notamment à l’aide des contrôles sur place ciblés effectués par la FINMA, ainsi qu’indirectement lors des audits prudentiels réalisés par les sociétés d’audit.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du Monitorage des risques 2019

Cyberrisques

Les technologies de l’information et de la communication sont fortement, et toujours plus, connectées et donc interdé-pendantes, ce qui est synonyme pour les établissements financiers suisses de vulnérabilités aiguës. Par exemple, si des systèmes informatiques venaient à dysfonctionner notamment suite à des ­cyberattaques, cela pourrait nuire à la disponi-bilité de services et fonctions critiques.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2018

Les cyberrisques au centre de la surveillance

Cyberrisiken

La surveillance de la FINMA se concentre sur le traitement des risques induits par la technologie, tels que la menace de cyberattaques ou l’externalisation de parts de la chaîne de création de valeur (outsourcing).

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2016

En bref: Menace liée aux cyberattaques

Les attaques visant l’infrastructure informatique des banques suisses constituent un risque à plusieurs égards. En plus des attaques de type phishing, de l’utilisation de maliciels ou de l’indisponibilité des systèmes informatiques, les établissements financiers suisses sont confrontés à des menaces de plus en plus sophistiquées et complexes.

Vers le contenu

Backgroundimage