Financial technology and digitalisation (2016)

Since 2013, FINMA has been paying close attention to the challenges arising from new technological developments in finance (FinTech) regarding licensing requirements, supervision and regulation. FINMA revised one circular and issued another to enable video and online identification and the digital conclusion of asset management agreements. It has also developed proposals to introduce a specific licensing category for FinTech service providers.

Innovation is an important part of maintaining competitiveness in the Swiss financial centre and ensuring it is equipped for the future. In fact, innovation is a must if the financial market is to maintain its dynamism and capacity to develop. FINMA is in contact with a broad range of stakeholder groups related to FinTech and constantly reviews the new challenges presented by technological advances. For instance, FINMA has a direct information and contact channel to deal with FinTech-related issues.

Switzerland shows continued interest in FinTech

FINMA reported on the growing FinTech trend in its 2015 Annual Report. The Swiss financial sector’s interest in digitalisation has continued to grow in the interim. FINMA has seen a rise in new service offerings in the business-to-business segment (B2B) and the business-to-customer segment (B2C). The volume of FinTech-related research initiatives, support programmes and start-up companies has also increased. FINMA has kept abreast of the latest developments through regular dialogue with experts, companies and associations.

FinTech desk

FINMA has taken organisational steps to adjust to the new market situation. It responded to a request from the FinTech sector at the end of 2015 for a centralised channel to access relevant information by setting up the FINMA FinTech desk, which became operational at the beginning of 2016. It manages all FinTech-related enquiries and it has the expertise to provide rapid and targeted answers. Interested members of the public or individuals working for startups or established financial services providers can obtain information about legal issues relating to the financial market via a dedicated FinTech desk.

Technology-neutral regulation case study: identification of new clients (digital onboarding)

FINMA maintains a technology-neutral approach to its regulation. Supervisory law must adopt a neutral position regarding technological developments and business models, i.e. neither facilitate nor hinder them. However, that does not mean the requirements applied to the provision of digital services have to be identical to those for analogue service providers. More importantly, the purpose of a regulation – one limiting the risk of money laundering, for example – must be upheld irrespective of whether market participants offer analogue or digital services. By defining the rules governing the digital verification of identification documents in Circular 2016/7 “Video and online identification”, FINMA established the conditions for identifying clients through the internet when initiating a business relationship.

As tangible documents cannot be sent via the internet, FINMA set out the necessary technical requirements to establish a business relationship, for example the optical recognition of security features by video chat. Video identification is equivalent to providing identification documents at a counter, while online identification equates to identification through correspondence.

FINMA regulations are technology-neutral

FINMA’s approach to FinTech is based on three principles: consistent technology neutrality, legal certainty and principle-based regulation. FINMA systematically reviews its regulation for market-entry hurdles to technology-based business models. Circular 2016/7 “Video and online identification” is an example of principle-based regulation; its lean framework allows providers to be flexible in how they structure their services and implement them at a technical level. The Circular thus extended the operating framework to include innovative business models.

FINMA has also authorised the digital conclusion of asset management agreements. FINMA Circular 2009/1 “Guidelines on asset management” had stipulated the need for a written asset management contract. This Circular has been amended and alternative forms of concluding contracts via digital channels are now also legitimate. Procedural requirements under the Collective Investment Schemes Act remain reserved. The changes came into force on 1 August 2016.

FINMA’s commitment to progressive operating conditions for FinTech companies

Switzerland also needs to adapt its overarching legal framework to consistently improve the operating environment for FinTech. FINMA has conducted in-depth discussions with the FinTech sector and representatives of established financial service providers to identify obstacles within the supervisory framework conditions. The main barriers to FinTech stem from banking legislation. FINMA also performed a benchmarking exercise against other financial centres and their FinTech initiatives. Against this background, FINMA proposed the creation of an effective and forward-looking legal regime. The aim here is to amend the Banking Act based on two pillars: the extension of the licence-free area (sandbox) to work with innovative business models free of any bureaucratic constraints, and a new licensing category tailored to established FinTech companies not involved in any conventional banking business and which, as a result, do not need to be regulated in the same way as banks. In view of the reduced risk, the authorisation requirements can be less exacting than with a traditional banking licence. The proposed licensing procedure would significantly lower the entry barriers to providers of payment systems, digital asset management applications and crowd platforms, particularly with respect to capital, corporate governance and risk management requirements. The rationale behind the approach is to simplify current regulations as opposed to adding more regulation.

The Federal Council has received and advanced FINMA’s proposals. The consultation process to review banking legislation will begin in early 2017.

International engagement

The topic of FinTech is also the subject of extensive discussion at the international level. FINMA is committed to making Switzerland an internationally competitive FinTech location. In 2016, FINMA joined the international FinTech debate and strengthened cooperation with other foreign supervisory authorities in digitalisation and financial technology. On 12 September 2016, FINMA signed an agreement to deepen FinTech cooperation with the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS). FINMA plans to conclude further cooperation agreements in 2017.

FinTech enquiries handled by FINMA

FINMA has seen a steep rise in the number and variety of FinTech business models, which in Switzerland now cover payment transactions, virtual currencies, capital procurement, asset management, banking technology/ trading platforms, insurance and data management. FINMA received approximately 270 FinTech-related enquiries in 2016, mainly about capital procurement (22%), payment transactions (31%) and virtual currencies (22%).

 

img anfragen finma 2016

(From the Annual Report 2016)

Technologies financières et numérisation (2016)

Depuis 2013, la FINMA s’intéresse de près aux défis posés par les évolutions technologiques dans le domaine financier (Fintech), tant pour ce qui est des questions d’autorisation que pour ce qui concerne la surveillance et la réglementation. La FINMA a rendu possibles l’identification par vidéo et en ligne ainsi que la conclusion numérique de contrats de gestion de fortune grâce à une nouvelle circulaire et à une circulaire modifiée. Elle a par ailleurs élaboré des propositions pour une catégorie d’autorisation spécifique dédiée aux prestataires dans le domaine des Fintech.

L’innovation constitue un facteur important pour conserver une place financière suisse compétitive et viable. Elle est indispensable pour assurer le dynamisme du marché financier et sa capacité à se développer. La FINMA est en relation avec les groupes d’intérêts les plus variés dans le secteur des Fintech et s’adapte sans cesse à de nouveaux défis. Elle propose notamment aux personnes intéressées un canal d’information et de contact direct pour toutes les questions en relation avec les Fintech.

L’intérêt pour les Fintech ne se dément pas en Suisse

La FINMA a déjà rendu compte de la tendance croissante vers les «Fintech» dans le rapport annuel 2015. Depuis, l’intérêt pour la numérisation dans le secteur financier n’a cessé de s’accentuer en Suisse. La FINMA a pu observer une augmentation des nouvelles offres de prestations, tant dans le segment de la clientèle commerciale (Business-to-Business-Segment [B2B]) que dans celui de la clientèle finale (Business-to-Customer-Segment [B2C]). Le nombre d’initiatives de recherche, de programmes de soutien et de start-ups dans le secteur des Fintech a par ailleurs progressé. La FINMA a engagé un dialogue bien rodé sur le thème des Fintech avec des spécialistes, des entreprises et des associations, qui lui permet de rester au fait des dernières évolutions.

Développement du Fintech-Desk

Sur un plan organisationnel, la FINMA s’est également efforcée de tenir dûment compte de l’évolution de la situation sur le marché. Ainsi, elle a mis en place dès la fin 2015 un accès centralisé aux informations pertinentes, en réponse au besoin formulé par le secteur des Fintech. Le Fintech-Desk de la FINMA qui regroupe toutes les demandes en relation avec les Fintech est opérationnel depuis début 2016. La spécialisation ainsi induite permet un traitement rapide et ciblé des questions relatives à différents domaines des Fintech. Les personnes intéressées, qu’elles appartiennent au grand public, aux start-ups ou aux prestataires de services financiers établis, peuvent recevoir des renseignements spécifiques aux Fintech sur des questions relevant du droit des marchés financiers par le biais d’un canal de contact spécialement mis en place à cet effet.

Réglementation neutre du point de vue technologique à l’exemple de la vérification de l’identité des nouveaux clients (digital onboarding)

La FINMA conçoit systématiquement ses réglementations de manière neutre du point de vue technologique. Le droit de la surveillance doit être neutre à l’égard des évolutions technologiques et des modèles d’affaires. Il ne doit donc ni les promouvoir activement ni les entraver. Cela ne signifie toutefois pas que les exigences à l’égard de la fourniture de prestations par le biais de canaux numériques doivent nécessairement être identiques à celles régissant la fourniture de prestations analogiques. Il est déterminant que le but recherché par une réglementation (par exemple la limitation du risque de blanchiment d’argent) et le résultat soient garantis de manière appropriée, quel que soit le canal choisi. Avec la circulaire 2016/7 «Identification par vidéo et en ligne», la FINMA a créé les conditions de la vérification de l’identité des clients lors de la conclusion d’une nouvelle relation d’affaires par Internet. Elle a ainsi transposé les prescriptions relatives au contrôle des documents d’identité dans un environnement numérique.

Une vérification tactile étant impossible sur Internet, la FINMA a défini les conditions techniques requises, par exemple pour le contrôle visuel des éléments de sécurité dans le cadre d’un chat vidéo. La vérification de l’identité par vidéo correspond ainsi à la vérification de l’identité au guichet, tandis que la vérification de l’identité en ligne est le pendant de l’actuelle vérification de l’identité par voie de correspondance.

Les réglementations de la FINMA sont toujours neutres du point de vue technologique

Dans la gestion de la thématique Fintech, la FINMA poursuit trois grands axes : «assurer la neutralité technologique», «instaurer la sécurité du droit» et «réglementer sur la base de principes». Elle examine systématiquement sa réglementation à la recherche de barrières d’entrée au marché pour les modèles d’affaires fondés sur la technologie. La circulaire 2016/07 «Identification par vidéo et en ligne» en est un exemple, notamment pour ce qui est de la réglementation basée sur les principes, car cette circulaire allégée est un gage de flexibilité en matière de conception individuelle et d’application technique pour les prestataires. Les conditions-cadres afférentes aux modèles d’affaires innovants ont ainsi été élargies.

La FINMA a par ailleurs rendu possible la conclusion numérique de contrats de gestion de fortune. Jusqu’à présent, la circulaire FINMA 2009/1 «Règles-cadres pour la gestion de fortune» exigeait un contrat de gestion de fortune écrit. La FINMA a remanié cette circulaire en y ancrant des formes alternatives de conclusion du contrat par le biais de canaux numériques. Demeurent réservées les prescriptions formelles selon la loi sur les placements collectifs. Les modifications sont entrées en vigueur le 1er août 2016.

Engagement de la FINMA en faveur de conditions-cadres modernes pour les entreprises des Fintech

Si la Suisse entend offrir des conditions-cadres durablement améliorées pour les Fintech, le cadre réglementaire global doit également évoluer. La FINMA a engagé un intense dialogue avec le secteur des Fintech et les représentants des prestataires de services financiers déjà établis, afin d’identifier les obstacles dans le domaine des conditions-cadres prudentielles. La législation bancaire génère les principaux obstacles pour les entreprises des Fintech. Les initiatives poursuivies par d’autres centres financiers dans le domaine des Fintech ont par ailleurs été étudiées. Dans ce contexte, la FINMA a proposé la création d’un cadre juridique efficace et prospectif. Le concept présenté en vue de l’adaptation de la loi sur les banques repose sur deux piliers : l’extension de l’espace libre d’autorisation sous la forme d’un «bac à sable» pour l’expérimentation informelle des modèles d’affaires innovants et une nouvelle catégorie d’autorisation conçue pour de telles entreprises Fintech établies qui ne pratiquent aucune activité typiquement bancaire et n’ont donc pas besoin d’une réglementation correspondante. Les conditions d’autorisation peuvent être moins complètes que pour une autorisation bancaire traditionnelle en raison d’un moindre risque. L’autorisation proposée se traduirait par un abaissement significatif des conditions d’entrée sur le marché, en particulier en ce qui concerne les exigences de fonds propres ainsi qu’en matière de gouvernance d’entreprise et de gestion du risque, pour les prestataires de systèmes de paiement et d’applications pour la gestion de fortune numérique, ainsi que pour les plates-formes de type crowd. Le concept ne s’entend pas dans le sens d’une nouvelle réglementation, mais d’un allègement de la réglementation existante.

Le Conseil fédéral a repris et poursuivi les propositions de la FINMA. Il est prévu de mettre la révision de la législation bancaire en consultation début 2017.

Engagement international

Le thème des Fintech fait également l’objet d’intenses discussions au niveau international. La FINMA s’engage pour une place suisse des Fintech compétitive au plan international. Elle a ainsi pris part à la discussion internationale en 2016. La FINMA a renforcé la collaboration dans le domaine de la numérisation et de la technologie financière avec d’autres autorités de surveillance étrangères importantes. Le 12 septembre 2016, elle signait une convention avec la Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) dans le but d’approfondir la collaboration dans le domaine des Fintech. La conclusion d’autres accords de coopération est prévue en 2017.

Réponses de la FINMA aux demandes concernant les Fintech

La FINMA est confrontée à un nombre croissant de modèles d’affaires Fintech d’une grande diversité. Ainsi, le paysage des Fintech en Suisse inclut des prestations dans le domaine des services de paiement, des monnaies virtuelles, de la levée de fonds, de la gestion de fortune, de la technologie bancaire / des plates-formes de négociation, des assurances et de la gestion de données. Quelque 270 demandes en lien avec les Fintech ont été reçues par la FINMA en 2016. Elles portaient en premier lieu sur la levée de fonds (22 %), les services de paiement (31 %) et les monnaies virtuelles (22 %).

 

img anfragen finma 2016

(Extraits du rapport annuel 2016)