Efficiency and proportionality in banking supervision

FINMA’s supervision and regulation have long been guided by the principles of efficiency and proportionality. In recent years it has systematically incorporated the principle of proportionality into its circulars and, particularly for smaller institutions, introduced various exceptions and relaxations.

FINMA is following this approach through the new small banks regime and its streamlined auditing. The aim is to consistently focus its supervisory activities and reduce complexity and expense for the institutions concerned.

New auditing orientation

Regulatory auditing is an important tool in the ongoing monitoring of licence holders. FINMA established a basis for aligning its auditing more closely with the relevant risks and improving the cost-benefit ratio through its revision of the relevant circular.

FINMA is hereby strengthening the risk orientation of regulatory auditing by audit firms. As a result, regulatory audits will not be as extensive as before, focusing instead on detailed audits in higher-risk areas. This will make the audit more effective.

FINMA also stated in its strategic goals that it would keep its supervision costs stable and achieve further efficiency gains. This includes the targeted improvement of the regulatory audit cost-benefit ratio while maintaining the same protection level and with increased cost transparency.

Audit firms make an important contribution to supervising Switzerland’s financial market through their work on behalf of FINMA. Even after the revision, the selection and mandating of the regulatory auditor will remain within the competence of the supervised institution.

The revised Circular 2013/3 “Auditing” came into force on 1 January 2019. The changes mainly affect audits of banks and securities dealers, institutions regulated by the Collective Investment Schemes Act (CISA) and financial-market infrastructures. Significance of the risk analysis The risk analysis is an important element of the audit and it forms the starting point and basis for defining the audit strategy. The audit firms continue to assess the inherent risk and control risk in the individual audit areas and fields.

Stronger influence on the audit strategy and audits of large supervised institutions

FINMA is responsible for approving regulatory audit strategies. In future, FINMA will exercise stronger influence on the audit strategies for systemically important supervised institutions (banks in Supervisory Categories 1 and 2) and selected institutions under the CISA in Supervisory Category 4. They are defined through a two-way process between FINMA and the audit firm. The cost estimates for the planned audits submitted by the audit firms provide FINMA with additional information. FINMA influences the risk orientation of regulatory audits in this way.

Extending the audit cycles for the basic audit

Basic audits conducted by audit firms cover individual audit areas and fields in predefined audit cycles. As a result of the audit review, the audit cycles were relaxed for each audit area and field, whereby the regular basic audit is no longer so extensive, favouring a more selective and focused approach instead. By way of example, an audit area or field representing a “medium” net risk will only be audited every six years, as opposed to the previous frequency of every three years. The focus is risk-based, i.e. cycles are lengthened for institutions in those areas where the risks are not regarded as very high.

Audits once every two or three years for small supervised institutions

Audit firms have hitherto performed regulatory audits of supervised institutions annually. This was an undifferentiated standard approach and thus unaffected by the business model or risk situation of the supervised institution. By revising the auditing process, FINMA has enabled supervised institutions to exempt themselves from the annual audit. The re duced audit frequency means supervised institutions in Supervisory Category 4 will only undergo an audit once every two years and those in Category 5 once every three years. This applies solely to supervised institutions that are free of high risks and do not have major shortcomings. FINMA makes a decision on the reduction of the frequency on the basis of an application by the supervised institution’s executive management.

By reducing the audit frequency, FINMA is observing the proportionality principle. Supervised institutions will benefit from the resulting synergies, as regulatory audits will be pooled and reporting will only take place every two or three years.

Increased flexibility in reaching audit conclusions

The regulatory audit principles remain lean even after the latest changes. At the same time, there is one major new feature: the increased flexibility regarding the concept of spot checks. This enables the audit firm to have an increased focus on the highrisk elements while performing a random check and still be able to give its verdict on that basis. FINMA also values the fact that the audit sector is further refining the auditing principles (Statement 70 EXPERTsuisse). One major aim is to determine a set of basic principles for establishing the spot check applicable to all audit firms conducting a regulatory audit.

Increased reliance on internal audit

While the audit firm conducts the regulatory audit, internal audit also conducts its own audit in the interests of adequate corporate governance. Both processes have been strictly separated thus far. By introducing these changes in the circular, FINMA is enabling the audit firm to benefit more from the work done by internal audit. This applies particularly to findings from the risk analysis, a coordination of the audit strategy and for specific actions within the defined audit areas and fields. The outcome will be a better and more efficient coordination between the audit firm and internal audit.

Simplified reporting

The annual reports submitted by the audit firms include detailed descriptions of processes and control functions for audit areas and fields. By adjusting its reporting requirements, FINMA has made audit firms focus more on irregularities and recommendations. Audit firms will also classify their findings according to clear criteria (“high”, “medium”, “low”). This allows FINMA to act in a targeted and riskoriented way, draw conclusions and, where necessary, define supervisory measures.

Moreover, FINMA’s new survey platform will enable it to receive supervisory information through digital channels in future. The platform will enable a leaner and more cost-efficient audit reporting process. The survey platform can also be used to submit risk analyses and audit strategies.

Small banks regime pilot phase

The wealth of diversity in Switzerland’s banking industry confers several advantages. The accessibility of sophisticated banking services, client proximity and knowledge of regional characteristics add significant value to Switzerland as a business location. Small banks stimulate competition in this environment. Their innovative potential contributes significantly to the further development of the business models. In autumn 2017 FINMA announced that it would reduce unnecessary complexity in its regulation of smaller institutions and relax the existing requirements for particularly healthy small banks. The planned changes are intended to increase the efficiency of regulation and supervision and prevent unnecessary administrative burdens, while at the same time maintaining the current level of stability and safety margins in the sector.

In the first half of 2018 the emphasis was on defining key values, known as the term sheet, in conjunction with the Swiss Bankers Association (SBA) and selected institutional representatives. The term sheet was completed at the end of June 2018 and includes the admittance criteria for participation and the intended simplifications. There is also a simplified leverage ratio in excess of 8%; an average liquidity coverage ratio of over 120% over the past 12 months; a refinancing rate of over 100% and no increased risks, especially for conduct and interest rate change risks. The plan is for small banks in the regime not to have to calculate risk-weighted assets in future. There are also plans for additional relaxations and simplifications to qualitative requirements for the post-pilot phase.

The project started in mid-July 2018 with 68 institutions from Supervisory Categories 4 and 5 and is scheduled to last until the end of 2019. Participants in the scheme benefited from relaxations in the areas of liquidity, disclosure and auditing during the reporting year. Switzerland is one of the first nations worldwide to conduct such a pilot, which is based on a detailed concept. The transition from a pilot to a permanent regime for small banks requires specific adjustments to the CAO and FINMA circulars. Preparations are under way to make the required changes to the Federal Council’s CAO under the direction of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF). The amended regulations are scheduled to come into force on 1 January 2020. FINMA is consistently focusing its supervisory activities and reducing complexity and expense for small banks through the new regime and its streamlined auditing.

 

(From the Annual Report 2017)

Efficacité et proportionnalité dans la surveillance bancaire

Dans le passé déjà, la FINMA orientait ses activités de surveillance et de réglementation sur des principes d’efficacité et de proportionnalité. Durant les dernières années, elle a ainsi systématiquement ancré le principe de proportionnalité dans ses circulaires, notamment en accordant différents exemptions et allègements pour les établissements les plus petits.

En instaurant un audit différencié et en lançant un régime pour les petites banques, la FINMA poursuit dans cette direction. L’objectif est d’accroître la cohérence des activités de surveillance et de réduire la complexité. Les établissements concernés doivent ainsi pouvoir concentrer leurs efforts sur les principaux risques.

Nouvelle orientation des activités d’audit

L’audit prudentiel est un instrument important de la surveillance courante des titulaires d’autorisation. En révisant la circulaire correspondante, la FINMA a posé les jalons pour une focalisation accrue des activités d’audit sur les risques déterminants et une amélioration du rapport coût/utilité. Ainsi, la FINMA renforce l’orientation sur les risques de l’audit prudentiel par les sociétés d’audit. L’audit prudentiel est moins exhaustif, se concentrant sur des audits approfondis dans les domaines présentant des risques accrus. La pertinence de l’audit en est améliorée.

Dans ses objectifs stratégiques, la FINMA a en outre indiqué qu’elle maintenait les coûts de la surveillance à un niveau stable et qu’elle réalisait des gains d’efficience. L’amélioration recherchée du rapport coût/utilité dans l’audit prudentiel pour un maintien équivalent du niveau de protection et une transparence accrue des coûts en font également partie.

En leur qualité de bras armé de la FINMA, les sociétés d’audit contribuent fortement à la surveillance du marché financier suisse. Même après la révision, le choix et l’attribution d’un mandat à la société d’audit prudentielle relèvent toujours de la compétence de l’établissement assujetti.

La circulaire révisée 2013/3 « Activités d’audit » est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019. Les changements concernent avant tout les audits auprès des banques et des négociants en valeurs mobilières, des instituts au sens de la loi sur les placements collectifs et des infrastructures des marchés financiers (IMF).

Importance de l’analyse des risques

L’analyse des risques est un élément important des activités d’audit. Elle sert de point de départ et de base pour la définition de la stratégie d’audit. Les sociétés d’audit continuent d’évaluer le risque inhérent et le risque de contrôle dans chacun des domaines et champs d’audit.

Influence accrue sur la stratégie d’audit et les contrôles d’audit chez les grands assujettis

Il appartient à la FINMA d’autoriser les stratégies d’audit dans le cadre de l’audit prudentiel. La FINMA exerce désormais une influence directe sur la stratégie d’audit des assujettis d’importance systémique (banques des catégories de surveillance 1 et 2) et d’instituts choisis au sens de la loi sur les placements collectifs de la catégorie de surveillance 4. La stratégie d’audit est définie conjointement par la FINMA et la société d’audit. Les coûts estimés des contrôles d’audit prévus devant être remis par les sociétés d’audit constituent une information supplémentaire pour la FINMA. La FINMA influence de cette manière l’orientation sur les risques dans le cadre de l’audit prudentiel.

Extension des cycles d’audit dans l’audit de base

Les sociétés d’audit couvrent les différents domaines et champs d’audit dans l’audit de base au moyen de cycles d’audit prédéfinis. La révision des activités d’audit a assoupli les cycles d’audit par domaine ou champ d’audit, l’audit de base régulier n’étant plus exhaustif, mais plus focalisé et ponctuel. Par exemple, dans le cas d’un risque net « moyen » dans le domaine ou champ d’audit correspondant, un audit n’est plus exigé que tous les six ans au lieu de tous les trois ans comme aujourd’hui. Cet étalement est orienté sur les risques, ce qui signifie que les cycles s’allongent pour certains assujettis, lorsque les risques ne sont pas jugés très élevés.

Contrôles d’audit tous les deux ou trois ans uniquement chez les petits assujettis

Par défaut, les sociétés d’audit effectuaient jusqu’à présent leurs audits prudentiels chez les assujettis à un rythme annuel. Cette gestion était indépendante du modèle d’affaires et de la situation en matière de risques de l’assujetti et n’était donc guère différenciée. En révisant les activités d’audit, la FINMA a créé les conditions pour que les assujettis puissent se libérer de l’audit prudentiel annuel. Avec une cadence d’audit réduite, les assujettis de la catégorie de surveillance 4 ne sont par conséquent plus audités que tous les deux ans et ceux de la catégorie de surveillance 5, que tous les trois ans. Seuls entrent en ligne de compte les assujettis qui ne présentent ni un profil de risques accru ni d’importantes faiblesses. La FINMA décide de cette réduction de la cadence d’audit en réponse à une demande de l’organe responsable de la haute direction de l’assujetti.

Avec la cadence d’audit réduite, la FINMA renforce l’application du principe de proportionnalité. Les assujettis profitent d’effets de synergie, car les contrôles d’audit sont regroupés dans le cadre de l’audit prudentiel et les rapports ne sont plus établis que tous les deux ou trois ans.

Plus de flexibilité dans l'établissement des confirmations d’audit

Les principes de l’audit prudentiel restent légers, même après les adaptations des activités d’audit. Une nouveauté importante concerne toutefois la flexibilité accrue lors de la conception des sondages. Lors de l’élaboration d’une conclusion d’audit, la société d’audit peut ainsi se concentrer davantage sur les éléments à risque dans le cadre de sondages. Il paraît en outre important à la FINMA que le secteur de l’audit continue à concrétiser les principes d’audit (recommandations d’audit 70 d’EXPERTsuisse). L’objectif consiste notamment à consigner les grandes lignes pour la conception des sondages applicables par les sociétés d’audit qui effectuent un audit prudentiel.

Un recours accru à la révision interne

Tandis que la société d’audit procède à l’audit prudentiel, la révision interne effectue ses propres contrôles d’audit dans l’intérêt d’une gouvernance d’entreprise appropriée de l’entreprise assujettie. Jusqu’à présent, ces deux procédures étaient strictement séparées. Avec les modifications, la FINMA permet à présent à la société d’audit de profiter davantage des travaux de la révision interne. C’est particulièrement vrai des enseignements tirés de l’élaboration de l’analyse des risques, de la coordination concernant la stratégie d’audit et des contrôles d’audit dans le cadre des domaines et champs d’audit définis. La société d’audit et la révision interne sont ainsi mieux et plus efficacement coordonnées.

Des rapports simplifiés

Jusqu’à présent, les rapports établis chaque année par les sociétés d’audit présentaient parfois des descriptions détaillées des procédures et des contrôles des domaines et champs d’audit traités. En adaptant les prescriptions en matière d’établissement des rapports, la FINMA incite les sociétés d’audit à se focaliser à l’avenir sur les critiques et les recommandations. Les sociétés d’audit classent en outre ces constatations selon des critères explicites, à savoir « élevé », « moyen » ou « faible ». La FINMA peut ainsi tirer les conclusions requises de façon ciblée et, si nécessaire, définir des mesures prudentielles.

Grâce à la nouvelle plate-forme de saisie, la FINMA a en outre la possibilité de collecter désormais les informations relevant de la surveillance par voie numérique. Dans le cadre des activités d’audit, cette plate-forme doit permettre une réduction de la taille des rapports et une meilleure efficience des coûts. La plate-forme de saisie peut également être utilisée pour la remise de l’analyse des risques et de la stratégie d’audit.

Le projet pilote du régime des petites banques

L’immense diversité de la place bancaire suisse présente de nombreux avantages. Une grande disponibilité de prestations bancaires professionnelles, une forte proximité avec les clients ainsi que la connaissance des particularités régionales sont des éléments précieux pour la place économique suisse. Dans ce contexte, les petites banques stimulent la concurrence. Leur potentiel d’innovation contribue aussi fortement au développement continu des modèles commerciaux. A l’automne 2017, la FINMA a annoncé son intention de réduire la complexité superflue de la réglementation pour les assujettis les plus petits et d’assouplir les exigences existantes, notamment pour les petites banques particulièrement solides. Les adaptations prévues poursuivent deux objectifs : continuer d’accroître l’efficacité de la réglementation et de la surveillance en évitant les contraintes administratives inutiles, tout en conservant la stabilité et le niveau de protection des petites banques.

 

Au premier semestre 2018, les travaux relatifs à ce « régime des petites banques » ont principalement porté sur les lignes directrices (termsheet), qui ont été définies en collaboration avec l’ASB et certains représentants des établissements. Approuvé fin juin 2018, ce termsheet comprend notamment les critères d’admission pour participer à ce régime ainsi que les simplifications visées. Y figurent un ratio de levier simplifié supérieur à 8 %, un ratio de liquidité à court terme (liquidity coverage ratio, LCR) de plus de 120 % sur les douze derniers mois, un taux de refinancement dépassant 100 % et l’absence de risques très élevés, en particulier ceux qui sont liés aux comportements commerciaux et à la fluctuation des taux d’intérêt. Il est en outre prévu que les éta-blissements bénéficiant du régime des petites banques ne soient plus tenus de calculer à l’avenir les actifs pondérés en fonction des risques. D’autres exonérations et simplifications concernant les exigences qualitatives sont aussi envisagées à l’issue du projet pilote.


Lancé à la mi-juillet 2018 avec 68 établissements des catégories de surveillance 4 et 5, ce projet pilote devrait durer jusqu’à fin 2019. Les établissements participants bénéficient d’allègements au niveau des liquidités, de la publication et des activités d’audit dès l’exercice en cours. Ce projet pilote, qui s’appuie sur un concept détaillé, place la Suisse en position de leader. Le passage du projet pilote à un régime permanent des petites banques nécessite des adaptations dans l’ordonnance sur les fonds propres (OFR) et dans certaines circulaires de la FINMA. Les travaux correspondants relatifs à l’OFR sont menés sous l’égide du Département fédéral des finances (DFF). La réglementation modifiée devrait entrer en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020.


(Extraits du rapport annuel 2018)