Cyber risks are a priority for FINMA’s supervisory activities

Supervision is focusing on technology-driven risks such as the threat of cyber attacks and the risks associated with outsourcing.

Banks and securities dealers: Continued focus on IT security and outsourcing

IT security, especially dealing with cyberrisks, remains a priority for banks and for FINMA’s supervisory activities. Supervision in 2019 will centre on the continuation of on-site supervisory reviews as part of direct supervision. FINMA will also look at the planning and execution of scenario analyses to review how banks manage crises caused by cyberthreats. Moreover, FINMA will exchange information with other national and international bodies on these issues. The increase in banks’ outsourcing operations will be a supervisory focal point in 2019. FINMA will concentrate in particular on on-site supervisory reviews of banks and key service providers, including notably cloud computing.

Insurance: On-site supervisory reviews with stronger emphasis on operational risks

FINMA successfully set up two teams for managing on-site reviews and intensive supervision. It will focus more strongly on increased operational risks in the future. It will also pay close attention to cyberrisks and the replacement of LIBOR.

Markets: IT security

As was the case last year, in 2019 the focus will be on strengthening the resilience of Switzerland’s financial market infrastructure against cyberattacks. A review based on the CPMI-IOSCO Guidance on cyberresilience for FMIs revealed in which areas there is still potential for improvement. Within FINMA, this issue is being addressed across the entire organisation so as to allow comparisons to be made between all the entities subject to supervision by FINMA.

Asset Management:Operational risks

FINMA believes that fund management companies and collective investment schemes will face challenges not only in the form of IT and cyberrisks but also from the rising trend towards outsourcing data and services to cloud providers. This topic is currently being analysed by means of a survey of these market players.

 

(From the Annual Report 2018)

Les cyberrisques au centre de la surveillance

La surveillance de la FINMA se concentre sur le traitement des risques induits par la technologie, tels que la menace de cyberattaques ou l’externalisation de parts de la chaîne de création de valeur (outsourcing).

Banques et négociants en valeurs mobilières: Focalisation durable sur la sécurité informatique et les externalisations

La sécurité informatique et, en particulier, la gestion des cyberrisques restent une priorité tant pour les banques que pour les activités de surveillance de la FINMA. En 2019, ces dernières engloberont notamment la poursuite des contrôles sur place réalisés dans le cadre de la surveillance directe. De plus, la FINMA planifiera et exécutera des analyses de scénarios pour vérifier la gestion des crises des banques en cas de cybermenaces. Par ailleurs, elle échangera intensément avec d’autres acteurs nationaux et internationaux sur ces sujets. Les activités toujours accrues des banques en matière d’externalisation deviendront une priorité de la surveillance pour l’année 2019. La FINMA procédera en particulier à des contrôles sur place aussi bien auprès de banques que chez des prestataires importants et mettra à cet égard fortement l’accent sur l’informatique en nuage (cloud computing).

Assurances: Renforcement des contrôles sur place dans le domaine des risques opérationnels

La FINMA a mené à bien la constitution de deux équipes dédiées aux contrôles sur place et à la surveillance intensive. Elle pourra renforcer l’attention portée aux risques opérationnels, lesquels se sont accentués. Elle accordera également une attention particulière aux cyberrisques et un éventuel abandon du LIBOR.

Marchés: Sécurité informatique

Comme l’année précédente, il s’agira en 2019 de renforcer la capacité de résistance de l’infrastructure suisse des marchés financiers face aux cyberattaques. L'analyse fondée sur le document publié par le CPMI et l'OICV, «Guidance on Cyber Resiliency for Financial Market Infrastructures», a révélé quels domaines pouvaient encore être améliorés. Au sein de la FINMA, ce thème est traité par plusieurs divisions pour permettre des comparaisons entre les assujettis.

Asset Management: Risques opérationnels

Les risques informatiques et les cyberrisques tout comme l’externalisation croissante des données et des services dans un cloud posent des défis aux directions de fonds et aux gestionnaires de placements collectifs de capitaux. Consciente de ces difficultés, la FINMA étudiera ces questions en réalisant une enquête auprès des acteurs du marché.

(Extraits du rapport annuel 2018)