At a glance: the threat of cyber attacks

Swiss banks must guard their infrastructure against various types of attack. In addition to phishing, malware and disruption to the availability of computers, the debilitating scenarios Swiss financial institutions face are growing ever more sophisticated and complex.

As part of the revision of FINMA Circular 08/21 “Operational risks – banks”, FINMA decided to expand its provisions on technological infrastructure by including critical aspects of dealing with cyber risks. The Circular requires banks and securities dealers to adopt an integrated and systematic approach to countering threats from the virtual world. The approach must include specific measures for governance, identification, protection, detection, response and recovery of threatened systems and services in connection with cyber risks and attacks.

FINMA also undertook an assessment of specific banks’ measures to counter cyber attacks. This included ordering banks in Supervisory Categories 1 and 2 to carry out additional cyber risk audits. FINMA also asked banks in Supervisory Category 3 to take part in a self-assessment of their implementation of cyber attack countermeasures. Both the audits and the self-assessment focused on the critical aspects of cyber risks as set out in the revised implementing provisions.

Additional audit

The additional audits highlighted continuing deficits, in particular relating to the identification of potential cyber threats and protective measures. Based on these findings, the banks concerned took further steps to increase their resilience.

Self-assessment

The self-assessment was designed to ascertain the progress in implementing measures to combat cyber risks, and to raise awareness of the critical aspects among banks in Supervisory Category 3.

Evaluation of the self-assessment by banks revealed wide differences: some banks rated nearly all measures as fully implemented, others almost none of them.

With regard to the critical aspects, detecting cyber attacks was one area in particular found to be needing improvement. In some cases there was a lack of measures to deal with more complex threat scenarios; in others the use of technical monitoring needed to be extended. However, there is also a need for action on the other critical aspects.

Conclusion

In summary, the additional audits and evaluation of the self-assessments revealed that as of early 2016, there was still much to be done in ensuring adequate resilience to threats from the virtual world. With the revised implementing provisions set to come into force on 1 July 2017, banks in Supervisory Categories 1 to 3 therefore initiated projects specifically to enhance their ability to withstand a cyber attack.

The self-assessment carried out in early 2016 at banks in Supervisory Category 3 revealed a need for improvements in all key aspects of dealing with cyber risks. Especially with regard to timely detection of cyber attacks, the majority of those taking part had not implemented key measures completely, if at all.

 

Cyberstatistik

 

(From the Annual Report 2016)

En bref: Menace liée aux cyberattaques

Les attaques visant l’infrastructure informatique des banques suisses constituent un risque à plusieurs égards. En plus des attaques de type phishing, de l’utilisation de maliciels ou de l’indisponibilité des systèmes informatiques, les établissements financiers suisses sont confrontés à des menaces de plus en plus sophistiquées et complexes.

Dans le cadre de la révision de la circ.-FINMA 08/21 «Risques opérationnels – banques», la FINMA a décidé d’ajouter aux dispositions d’exécution sur l’infrastructure technologique des aspects essentiels concernant la gestion des cyberrisques. La circulaire exige des banques et des négociants en valeurs mobilières l’application d’un concept systématique et global pour repousser les menaces provenant du monde virtuel. Ce concept de cyberdéfense doit définir des mesures concrètes en matière de gouvernance, d’identification, de protection, de détection, de réaction et de rétablissement pour protéger les systèmes ou services menacés par des cyberrisques ou des cyberattaques.

En outre, la FINMA a évalué les mesures prises par certaines banques en matière de cyberattaques. Dans ce cadre, elle a ordonné, entre autres, des contrôles supplémentaires sur les cyberrisques dans les banques des catégories de surveillance 1 et 2. De plus, la FINMA a invité les banques de la catégorie de surveillance 3 à participer à une auto-évaluation du degré de mise en oeuvre des mesures destinées à combattre les cyberattaques. Tant les contrôles supplémentaires que l’auto-évaluation s’appuyaient sur les aspects essentiels des cyberrisques selon les dispositions d’exécution révisées.

Contrôles supplémentaires

Les contrôles supplémentaires ont révélé des lacunes, en particulier dans l’identification du potentiel de risque des cyberattaques et dans les dispositifs de protection. Sur la base de ces constatations, les banques concernées ont pris des mesures pour accroître leur résilience face aux cyberattaques.

Auto-évaluation

L’auto-évaluation visait, d’une part, à déterminer le degré de mise en oeuvre des mesures liées à la gestion des cyberrisques et, d’autre part, à sensibiliser les banques de la catégorie de surveillance 3 aux aspects essentiels en la matière.

L’analyse de cette auto-évaluation des banques fournit une image hétéroclite. Certains établissements bancaires ont estimé que presque toutes les mesures avaient été entièrement mises en oeuvre, alors que d’autres ont admis n’en avoir implémenté intégralement pratiquement aucune.

Concernant les aspects essentiels de la gestion des cyberrisques, un besoin d’amélioration a été constaté dans la détection des cyberattaques notamment. D’un côté, des mesures réglant la gestion des menaces plus complexes font défaut ; de l’autre, l’utilisation de moyens techniques de surveillance devrait être étendue. Il faut cependant également agir au niveau des autres aspects essentiels.

Conclusion

En résumé, les contrôles supplémentaires et l’analyse de l’auto-évaluation ont révélé début 2016 que des efforts étaient encore nécessaires pour garantir une protection adéquate contre les menaces provenant du cyberespace. Les banques des catégories de surveillance 1 à 3 ont donc lancé des projets spécifiques pour accroître leur résilience face aux cyberattaques, notamment dans la perspective des dispositions d’exécution révisées, qui entreront en vigueur le 1er juillet 2017.

L’auto-évaluation réalisée début 2016 par les banques de la catégorie de surveillance 3 a révélé qu’il était nécessaire d’agir dans tous les aspects essentiels de la gestion des cyberrisques. En particulier, la plupart des banques participantes n’avaient pas encore ou pas du tout implémenté des mesures primordiales pour la détection rapide des cyberattaques.

 

Cyberstatistik


(Extraits du rapport annuel 2016)