How FINMA is organised

FINMA is organised into eight divisions. The strategic management of the supervisory authority is performed by the Board of Directors. Responsibility for operational management lies with the Executive Board.
FINMA was established in 2009 from its three predecessor institutions: the Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC), the Federal Office of Private Insurance (FOPI) and the Anti-Money Laundering Control Authority (AMLCO). In establishing FINMA, the legislator transferred responsibility for financial market supervision to an integrated authority.

Board of Directors and Executive Board

FINMA, an independent supervisory authority, has a modern management structure with a board of directors, an executive board and an external auditor in the form of the Swiss Federal Audit Office (SFAO).

As FINMA's strategic management body and in accordance with the Financial Market Supervision Act, the Board of Directors comprises seven to nine independent expert members. It decides on matters of substantial importance, issues ordinances and circulars, and is responsible for FINMA's budget. It also ensures internal controls by means of an internal audit unit and oversees the Executive Board.

The operative business is managed by the Executive Board, which is made up of nine members: a chief executive officer and the eight heads of the respective divisions. The Executive Board prepares the necessary files and materials for decisions to be taken by the Board of Directors and is responsible for implementing the resolutions of this management body. For all matters that do not fall to the Board of Directors, the Executive Board reaches its own decisions.

Corporate governance

As a counterbalance to FINMA's independence, it has been made accountable to and is subject to the overall political supervision of the Federal Government. It is of vital importance to FINMA that its staff and third parties acting on its behalf conduct themselves with integrity and refrain from any activity that could jeopardise its image and credibility. FINMA has its own Personnel Ordinance and has issued a code of conduct. The latter sets out strict instructions, particularly with regard to the handling of conflicts of interest that may arise in connection with activities carried out on FINMA's behalf. This code of conduct is directed at all persons acting for FINMA, namely the Board of Directors and all staff members, whether they are employed on either a permanent or temporary basis.

Headcount

In 2015, FINMA employed an average of 527 employees, across 494 full-time equivalent positions.

Its staff comprise a broad range of specialists working together on an interdisciplinary basis. FINMA employs specialists from the fields of law, economics, mathematics, auditing, the actuarial profession, accounting and investment, among others.


Average headcount

Average headcount

Since 2009, FINMA has registered similarly strong growth to that of other European financial market supervisory authorities. This growth can be attributed to greater regulatory requirements in the aftermath of the financial crisis between 2007 and 2008 and to the professionalisation of the supervisory sector, for instance with the introduction of the risk-based supervisory approach. FINMA invests the majority of its resources in its core tasks of licensing, supervision and enforcement.

Die Organisation der FINMA

Die FINMA hat sich in acht Geschäftsbereichen organisiert. Strategisch geführt wird die Behörde von einem Verwaltungsrat. Die operative Verantwortung liegt bei der Geschäftsleitung.

Entstanden ist die FINMA im Jahr 2009 aus den drei Vorgängerbehörden Eidgenössische Bankenkommission (EBK), Bundesamt für Privatversicherungen (BPV) und Kontrollstelle für die Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei (Kst GwG). Damit hat der Gesetzgeber die Aufsicht über den Finanzmarkt einer integrierten Behörde übertragen.

Verwaltungsrat und Geschäftsleitung

Die unabhängige Aufsichtsbehörde FINMA verfügt über eine zeitgemässe Führungsstruktur mit einem Verwaltungsrat, einer Geschäftsleitung und einer von der Eidgenössischen Finanzkontrolle (EFK) wahrgenommenen externen Revision.

Als strategisches Führungsorgan der FINMA verfügt der Verwaltungsrat nach dem Finanzmarktaufsichtsgesetz über sieben bis neun fachkundige und unabhängige Mitglieder. Er entscheidet über Geschäfte von grosser Tragweite, erlässt Verordnungen und Rundschreiben und verantwortet das Budget der FINMA. Gleichzeitig stellt er die interne Kontrolle durch eine interne Revision sicher und überwacht die Geschäftsleitung.

Die operativen Geschäfte werden von der Geschäftsleitung geführt. Diese besteht aus neun Mitgliedern: einem Direktor und den acht Leitern der Geschäftsbereiche.  Die Geschäftsleitung erarbeitet die Entscheidgrundlagen für den Verwaltungsrat und ist für die Umsetzung der Beschlüsse dieses Führungsorgans zuständig. In allen Geschäften, die nicht dem Verwaltungsrat zum Entscheid übertragen sind, entscheidet die Geschäftsleitung selbst.

Corporate Governance

Die Unabhängigkeit der FINMA wird mit einer Rechenschaftspflicht und der politischen Oberaufsicht durch den Bund ausgeglichen. Die FINMA legt grössten Wert darauf, dass sich die für sie tätigen Personen integer verhalten und alles unterlassen, was Ansehen und Glaubwürdigkeit der FINMA gefährden könnte. Die FINMA verfügt über eine eigene Personalverordnung und hat einen Verhaltenskodex erlassen. Dieser enthält strenge Anweisungen, insbesondere zum Umgang mit Interessenkonflikten, die im Zusammenhang mit einer Tätigkeit für die FINMA auftreten können. Er richtet sich an alle für die FINMA tätigen Personen, namentlich Mitglieder des Verwaltungsrates sowie fest und temporär angestellte Mitarbeitende. 

Personalbestand

Die FINMA beschäftigte im Jahr 2016 durchschnittlich 513 Mitarbeitende in 477 Vollzeitstellen.

Das Personal setzt sich aus einer breiten Palette an Spezialisten zusammen, die interdisziplinär zusammenarbeiten. In der FINMA sind Juristen, Ökonomen, Mathematiker, Wirtschaftsprüfer, Aktuare, Rechnungslegungsexperten, Anlagespezialisten und weitere Fachkräfte tätig.

Durchschnittlicher Personalbestand

Durchschnittlicher Personalbestand

Die FINMA ist seit 2009 ähnlich stark gewachsen wie andere europäische Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörden. Zurückzuführen ist dieses Wachstum einerseits auf höhere regulatorische Anforderungen infolge der Finanzkrise von 2007 und 2008, andererseits auf die Professionalisierung der Aufsicht, zum Beispiel mit der Einführung des risikobasierten Aufsichtskonzeptes. Den grössten Teil ihrer Mittel investiert die FINMA in ihre Kernaufgaben Bewilligung, Aufsicht und Durchsetzung.