Resolution Report 2020

In the event of a disorderly failure, systemically ­important financial institutions can jeopardise ­entire economies and are therefore referred to as “too big to fail” (TBTF). Following the financial crisis of 2007/2008, the Swiss legislator promulgated special rules for the stabilisation, restructuring or liquidation of such institutions. The rules require higher capital and liquidity buffers as well as plans for recovery and resolution. There are four main instruments in this context:

  1. Recovery plan: The systemically important bank or financial market infrastructure sets out how it would stabilise itself in a crisis. This plan requires FINMA‘s approval.

  2. Swiss emergency plan: In this plan the systemically important bank details how it would ensure uninterrupted continuity of its systemically important functions in Switzerland (particularly access to deposits and payments) in a crisis. FINMA must review this plan and evaluate whether it is ready to be implemented if necessary.

  3. Resolution plan: FINMA produces a global resolution plan for Credit Suisse and UBS. This indicates how the entire global group would be recapitalised, restructured and/or (partially) liquidated in a crisis. Resolution plans are also required for the domestic systemically important banks and systemic financial market infrastructures. FINMA assesses the resolvability of an institution on the basis of whether the preparations of the institution are sufficient to successfully implement the plan if necessary.

  4. Rebates: FINMA can grant UBS and Credit Suisse rebates on certain components of the capital requirements if they have made significant improvements in their global resolvability.

The two global systemically important banks were required to submit an effective emergency plan to FINMA for review by the end of 2019. This makes it a suitable point in time for FINMA to inform publicly about progress. At the same time, FINMA sets out in this document how it would proceed in the event of a resolution. 

Recovery plans have been approved and the global banks’ Swiss emergency plans are effective

All five systemically important Swiss banks have submitted recovery plans to FINMA, which have been approved. FINMA carried out a detailed review of the effectiveness of the Swiss emergency plans submitted by the end of 2019. At Credit Suisse FINMA deems the statutory requirements for a ready-to-implement emergency plan to have been met. FINMA also regards UBS‘ emergency plan as effective but has qualified this assessment on account of financial interdependencies within the group that UBS is required to rapidly reduce further.

The emergency plans of the three domestic systemically important banks had reached various levels of readiness at the end of 2019, but none of them is deemed to be fully ready for implementation. At ZKB further build-up of capital and liquidity resources is required. Raiffeisen and PostFinance also have further work to do, particularly on producing plans to build up the loss-absorbing capacity required for recapitalisation in a crisis. 

Global resolution plans: work in progress

FINMA has drawn up a global resolution plan for both of the largest Swiss banks setting out its primary resolution strategy. Unlike the Swiss emergency plan, the resolution plan for the large banks relates to the entire banking group and is hence referred to as “global“. Both banks have taken important preparatory steps and have thus made considerable progress with respect to their global resolvability. In particular, FINMA views the requirements for a reduction in structural interdependencies as being fulfilled, specifically through the establishment of holding structures and Swiss subsidiaries. In other areas, particularly the provision of the necessary liquidity in the event of resolution, the regulatory and implementation work is still in progress. In addition, individual aspects of the resolvability of the two global banks are assessed in an annual rebate process. As in the previous years, both banks managed to improve their global resolvability in 2019. Credit Suisse has now reached 40 percent of its rebate potential and UBS 42.5 percent. 


In contrast to the two global banks, the resolution plans of the domestic systemically important banks are not global and like their emergency planning relate purely to their Swiss business. These resolution plans are therefore very closely related to the emergency plans and do not require the banks to adopt any material additional preparatory measures.

Overview of the progress of work (as at the end of 2019)

Resolution Report 2020

Recovery and resolution planning of financial market infrastructures under way

Systemically important financial market infrastructures must set out in a recovery plan the measures they will use to ensure their stability in the event of a crisis, so allowing them to continue their systemically important business processes. Both financial market infrastructures designated as systemically important in Switzerland (SIX x-clear, the clearing provider and central counterparty, as well as SIX SIS, the central securities depository) have recovery plans in place. The plans have been continuously improved. Due to the high standards for these plans, further improvements are needed before they meet the conditions for approval. FINMA has also commenced work on developing resolution plans for SIX x-clear and SIX SIS.

Resolution Report 2020

Updated: 25.02.2020 Size: 0,75  MB
Add to personal download list
Backgroundimage

Rapport sur la resolution 2020

En cas de défaillance non ordonnée, les établissements financiers d’importance systémique peuvent mettre en danger des économies nationales entières et sont donc qualifiés de «too big to fail» (TBTF). Dans le sillage de la crise financière de 2007-2008, le législateur suisse a édicté des règles spéciales concernant la stabilisation, l’assainissement ou la liquidation de tels établissements. Celles-ci leur imposent, outre de disposer de volants de fonds propres et de liquidité plus élevés, d’établir une planification de recovery et de resolution (plan de stabilisation et de liquidation). Dans cette perspective, quatre instruments occupent le devant de la scène :

  1. Plan de recovery: la banque d’importance systémique ou l’infrastructure des marchés financiers présente la manière dont elle pense pouvoir se stabiliser par ses propres moyens en cas de crise. La FINMA doit approuver ce plan.

  2. Plan d’urgence suisse: la banque d‘importance systémique présente la manière dont elle maintiendra sans interruption ses fonctions d’importance systémique pour la Suisse (par ex. accès aux dépôts bancaires et trafic des paiements) en cas de crise. La FINMA doit examiner ce plan et en évaluer l’applicabilité.

  3. Plan de resolution: la FINMA établit pour Credit Suisse et UBS un global resolution plan. Celui-ci présente la manière dont elle recapitaliserait, assainirait et/ou liquiderait (partiellement) l’ensemble du groupe en cas de crise. La FINMA doit également établir des plans de resolution pour les IMF et les banques d’importance systémique au niveau national. La FINMA juge de la resolvability d’un établissement en examinant si les mesures préparatoires qu’il a prises suffiraient à une mise en œuvre réussie du plan.

  4. Remise: la FINMA peut octroyer aux deux grandes banques des remises sur certaines exigences en matière de fonds propres si celles-ci améliorent fondamentalement leur resolvability globale.

Les grandes banques d’importance systémique ont chacune dû soumettre pour examen à la FINMA un plan d‘urgence exécutable avant fin 2019, ce qui a donné l’occasion à la FINMA de présenter au public les progrès accomplis via la présente publication. Parallèlement, la FINMA explique ici comment elle procéderait dans le cas d’une resolution

Approbation des plans de recovery et exécutabilité des plans d’urgence suisses des grandes banques

Les cinq banques suisses d’importance systémique ont soumis à la FINMA un plan de recovery qu’elle a pu approuver. La FINMA a examiné de très près les plans d‘urgence suisses qui lui étaient parvenus jusqu’à fin 2019 quant à l’efficacité des mesures proposées. Dans le cas de Credit Suisse, la FINMA juge que les exigences légales d‘un plan d‘urgence exécutable sont remplies. Elle considère également le plan d‘urgence d’UBS comme exécutable, mais émet cependant une réserve étant donné des dépendances financières internes au groupe qui doivent encore être rapidement éliminées.

Fin 2019, les plans d’urgence des trois banques d’importance systémique actives au plan national présentent différents niveaux de maturité, aucun ne pouvant encore être qualifié d’intégralement exécutable. Pour la Banque cantonale de Zurich demeure notamment un besoin de renforcement dans les domaines des fonds propres et de la liquidité. Pour Raiffeisen et PostFinance aussi, des efforts doivent encore être fournis, les plans n’expliquant notamment pas encore comment ces banques comptent augmenter les fonds supplémentaires absorbant les pertes nécessaires à une recapitalisation en cas de crise.

Global resolution plans:  en voie de mise en œuvre

La FINMA a établi un global resolution plan pour chacune des deux grandes banques, lequel expose la stratégie primaire de resolution. Contrairement au plan d‘urgence suisse, le plan de resolution porte, pour les deux grandes banques, sur l’ensemble du groupe bancaire, raison pour laquelle il est caractérisé de «global». Les deux banques ont pris dans l’essentiel les mesures préparatoires nécessaires et ont ainsi pu réaliser de grands progrès quant à leur resolvability globale. La FINMA considère notamment que les ­exigences posées en matière de décentralisations structurelles sont remplies, par ex. par la création de structures de holding et de filiales suisses. Dans d’autres domaines examinés et notamment dans celui de la liquidité pour le cas d’une resolution, les travaux de mise en œuvre et de réglementation sont encore en cours. En outre, certains aspects de la ­resolvability des grandes banques sont mesurés lors du processus de remise conduit annuellement auprès des grandes banques. Comme lors des années précédentes, la FINMA a constaté en 2019 des améliorations de la resolvability globale. Actuellement, Credit Suisse a utilisé son potentiel de remise à hauteur de 40 % et UBS, à hauteur de 42,5 %.

Les plans de resolution pour les banques d’importance systémique actives au plan national ne sont pas «global» contrairement à ceux des deux grandes banques, mais concernent uniquement, comme la planification d’urgence, les activités suisses. Ces plans de resolution sont étroitement liés aux plans d’urgence et n’exigent des banques aucune mesure préparatoire matérielle supplémentaire.

Aperçu de l‘état d‘avancement des travaux (à fin 2019) 

Resolution Bericht 2020

Des plans de recovery et de resolution en cours d’élaboration pour les infrastructures des marchés financiers

Les infrastructures des marchés financiers d’importance systémique doivent détailler, dans un plan de recovery, les mesures grâce auxquelles elles entendent se stabiliser en cas de crise, afin d’être en mesure de poursuivre leurs processus opérationnels d’importance systémique. Les deux infrastructures des marchés financiers désignées comme d’importance systémique en Suisse (SIX x-clear comme contrepartie centrale et SIX SIS comme dépositaire central) disposent de plans de recovery qui ont été constamment améliorés. En raison des exigences élevées posées à ces plans, des modifications supplémentaires doivent encore y être apportées avant qu’ils puissent être approuvés. La FINMA a engagé les travaux visant à élaborer des plans de resolution pour SIX x-clear et SIX SIS.

Rapport sur la resolution 2020

Dernière modification: 25.02.2020 Taille: 0,94  MB
Ajouter aux favoris
Backgroundimage