Press release

Overall re-appointment process: Federal Council confirms FINMA’s Board of Directors and elects a new member

The Federal Council today appointed the members of the Board of Directors of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA for the term of office from 2024 to 2027. It confirmed Marlene Amstad (Chair) and Martin Suter (Vice-Chair) as well as all other existing members of the Board of Directors. The Federal Council elected Rene W. Keller as a new and additional member of FINMA’s Board of Directors.

At its meeting today, the Federal Council confirmed all the existing members of FINMA’s Board of Directors in the overall re-appointment process. It elected Marlene Amstad (Chair), Martin Suter (Vice-Chair), Ursula Cassani Bossy, Susan Emmenegger, Alberto Franceschetti, Benjamin Gentsch, Marzio Hug and Andreas Schlatter for a further term of office until the end of 2027.

The Federal Council also elected Rene W. Keller (59, Swiss national) as a new member of FINMA’s Board of Directors. Rene W. Keller has been a member of the executive board of various financial institutions, served as Head of IT and held various board mandates. Among other things, he has served as Chief Information Officer (CIO) for Private, Wealth & Commercial Clients at Deutsche Bank AG, Group CIO of Deutsche Börse AG and most recently as CIO of Standard Chartered Bank in Singapore (corporate, commercial and institutional banking business). Rene W. Keller will assume office on 1 January 2024 and is also elected until the end of 2027.

Marlene Amstad, Chair of FINMA’s Board of Directors, remarks: “FINMA’s Board of Directors is being boosted with a leading international figure from the financial sector who brings with him more than twenty-five years of experience in the global provision of technology and innovation in different areas of the financial industry. Digitalisation and the deployment of new technologies in supervision (SupTech) is an important strategic issue for FINMA.”

FINMA’s Board of Directors will accordingly comprise the following nine members with effect from 1 January 2024 (term of office from 2024 until 2027):

  • Professor Marlene Amstad (Chair)
  • Martin Suter (Vice-Chair)
  • Professor Ursula Cassani Bossy
  • Professor Susan Emmenegger
  • Dr Alberto Franceschetti
  • Benjamin Gentsch
  • Marzio Hug
  • Rene W. Keller
  • Dr Andreas Schlatter

The Board of Directors is FINMA’s strategic management body. According to the Financial Market Supervision Act, the Board of Directors notably defines strategic goals, decides on matters of substantial importance, issues circulars and ordinances delegated to FINMA and appoints and supervises the Executive Board.


Tobias Lux, Spokesperson
Phone +41 31 327 91 71


Press release

Overall re-appointment process: Federal Council confirms FINMA’s Board of Directors and elects a new member

Updated: 06.09.2023 Size: 0.16  MB
Add to personal download list