Press release

Re-election of Swiss Takeover Board members

At its recent meeting, the Board of Directors of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA elected the members of the Swiss Takeover Board (TOB) for the next term of office. It confirmed the re-election of the TOB president, Luc Thévenoz, and six other TOB members. By reason of the statutory term limit, the TOB's Vice-Chairman, Walter Knabenhans, and Thierry de Marignac will leave the Board. They will be replaced by Lionel M. Aeschlimann and Thomas A. Müller starting 1 January 2012. Raymund Breu has been appointed as new vice-chairman.

The Takeover Board (TOB) issues as first instance orders on public takeover bids. FINMA's Board of Directors is responsible for the overall supervision of the TOB. Its members comprise experts representing securities dealers, listed companies and investors.

Walter Knabenhans, TOB Vice-Chair, and Thierry de Marignac will leave the Board when the current term of office ends on 31 December 2011. FINMA would like to thank both of them for their tireless commitment and the important contribution they have made over the years to the Swiss takeover regime.

The FINMA Board of Directors elected two new members to the TOB, Lionel M. Aeschlimann and Thomas A. Müller, at its recent meeting. Raymund Breu has been appointed vice-chairman of the Board.

  • Lionel M. Aeschlimann is a managing partner and a member of the Bank Mirabaud Executive Committee, a role which also allows him to act as CEO of various companies of the bank. He studied law at the University of Bern, specialising in financial market law, and acquired an LLM at the College of Europe.
  • Thomas A. Müller is Chief Financial Officer & Head of Corporate Centre and a member of the Bank Sarasin Executive Committee. He studied economics at the University of Bern and holds an MBA from IMD Lausanne.

The TOB will consist of the following members for the new term of office (2012 – 2015):

  • Luc Thévenoz, Chairman
  • Raymund Breu, Vice-Chair
  • Lionel M. Aeschlimann
  • Susan Emmenegger
  • Susanne Haury von Siebenthal
  • Regina Kiener
  • Thomas A. Müller
  • Henry Peter
  • Thomas Rufer

The FINMA Board of Directors wishes the TOB members a fruitful and successful collaboration.


Tobias Lux, Media Spokesperson, phone +41 (0)31 327 91 71,