Swiss Federal Banking Commission  deutsch français

Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs)

The increasing internationalisation of the financial services industry brings with it growing requirements in terms of cooperation and the flow of information between supervisory authorities. In order to facilitate cooperation, the SFBC concludes agreements with foreign supervisory authorities. These are focused on supervisory authorities in strategically significant countries with whom there is an extensive exchange of information due to the large number of cross-border affiliated offices of supervised institutions. In line with modern practice, the SFBC increasingly concludes Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) rather than exchanging letters. The MoUs specify cooperation and procedures within the statutory framework (Art. 23 sexies und Art. 23 septies BA, Art. 38 SESTA and Art. 142 CISA).

The SFBC is also legally authorised to cooperate with a foreign supervisory authority even in the absence of a specific agreement between the two. If the cooperation involves the exchange of sensitive data, the SFBC generally requests an ad hoc declaration from the requesting supervisory authority, under the terms of which

  • the information may be used exclusively for the direct monitoring of the supervised institutions,
  • the supervisory authority is bound by official or professional secrecy,
  • the information may not be published or forwarded to other authorities or bodies, including other supervisory or prosecuting authorities, without the prior approval of the SFBC.

At present, the SFBC has formalised its cooperation with the following foreign supervisory authorities:

Australia ASIC Australian Securities & Investments Commission
Belgium CBFA Commission bancaire, financière et des assurances
China CBRC China Banking Regulatory Commission
CSRC China Securities Regulatory Commission
Denmark Finanstilsynet Autorité de surveillance danoise
Dubai DFSA Dubai Financial Services Authority
France AMF

(agreement with the former COB)
Autorité des marchés financiers

(Commission des Opérations de Bourse)
CB Commission Bancaire
Germany BaFin

(agreement with the former BAWe)
Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht

(Bundesaufsichtsamt für den Wertpapierhandel)
Hong Kong HKMA Hong Kong Monetary Authority
SFC Securities and Futures Commission
Italy CONSOB Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa
BI Banca d'Italia
Mexico CNBV Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores
Netherlands NAFM

(agreement with the former STE)
Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets

(Stichting Toezicht Effectenverkeer)
DNB De Nederlandsche Bank N.V.
Portugal CMVM Comissão do Mercado de Valores Mobiliários
Singapore MAS Monetary Authority of Singapore
Sweden Finansinspektionen Swedish financial supervisory authority
Spain CNMV Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores
UK FSA (general agreement) Financial Services Authority
FSA (surveillance virt-x) Financial Services Authority
FSA (surveillance x-clear) Financial Services Authority
USA CFTC U.S. Commodity Futures and Trading Commission
SEC Securities and Exchange Commission
CTDOB State of Connecticut Department of Banking
NYSBD State of New York Banking Department
FED Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
OCC Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
FDIC Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
OTS U.S. Office of the Thrift Supervision
Helpful Links
International Organization of Securities