Overview of recovery and resolution

The ongoing work of the systemically important banks on their recovery and emergency plans was the main focus at FINMA in 2018.

The Recovery and Resolution division concentrated on monitoring systemically important banks as they drew up recovery and emergency plans and assessed these plans. The division also gave its first assessment of the recovery plans of the systemically important financial-market infrastructures (FMIs). In addition, FINMA continues to monitor a large number of liquidation and bankruptcy proceedings.

Large banks’ parent companies strengthened

In 2017 FINMA ordered on the basis of Art. 4 para. 3 of the Banking Act that holdings in subsidiaries at the parent companies of the two large banks would in future be counted on a risk-weighted basis when determining the requirements for going concern capital. The relevant amendments to the Capital Adequacy Ordinance (CAO) entered into force on 1 January 2019.

FSB Resolvability Assessment 2018 and capital rebate review

FINMA carried out the annual resolvability assessment process (RAP) in 2018 in line with the recommendations of the Financial Stability Board (FSB). It informed the FSB of progress made in ensuring the resolvability of the two major banks as at the end of 2017 and the remaining obstacles to resolution. Both the assessment of the crisis management colleges and the FSB’s international comparison paint a positive picture of the progress that has been made. FINMA also reviewed the resolvability of the two financial groups against the criteria in the Banking Ordinance for granting rebates on additional loss-absorbing funds (gone concern capital). FINMA granted the two banks an additional rebate, primarily for implementing a global service company structure separate from their banking business. Both of the large banks have thus in total received 40% of the maximum rebate as at the end of 2018. The two banks will implement further improvements in their resolvability in the coming years and FINMA will review annually whether or not to give additional rebates.

Emergency planning for systemically important banks

The two large banks further enhanced and operationalised various aspects of their emergency plans in 2018. Nonetheless, both banks still have a considerable amount of work to do to meet the deadline of the end of 2019 for the completion of a realisable emergency plan, particularly with regard to reducing financial interdependencies within the group and closing liquidity gaps in the event of a crisis.

For the three domestic systemically important banks the main obstacles are the failure of the emergency plans to take account of the requirements for gone concern funds which came into force on 1 January 2019 and the lack of feasible resolution strategies based on these. FINMA was therefore forced to extend the deadline for submitting an implementable emergency plan for all three banks.

International cooperation in recovery and resolution

As the home supervisor of two global systemically important banks, FINMA is responsible for coordinating the cross-border recovery or resolution of these banks with the foreign supervisory authorities in the CMG in the event of a crisis. The prime objective is to avoid an adverse impact on the domestic and global financial system and the economies concerned without having recourse to government support. FINMA organises three meetings annually – two colleges and a workshop – to lay the groundwork with the foreign supervisory authorities for ensuring international cooperation in the event of a crisis.

Recovery and resolution: responsibilities

FINMA’s recovery and resolution activities cover the entire crisis cycle, from prevention and intervention in an acute crisis situation to resolution in cases where no recovery is possible.

 

Zuständigkeiten


(From the annual report 2018)

Vue d’ensemble des activités de recovery et de resolution

Durant l’année 2018, la FINMA s’est concentrée sur l’accompagnement des efforts des banques d’importance systémique relatifs à leurs plans d’urgence et de stabilisation.

La division Recovery et Resolution est principalement responsable du contrôle et de l’accompagnement de l’élaboration des plans de stabilisation et d’urgence pour les banques d’importance systémique. Elle a également réalisé une première évaluation des plans de stabilisation des IMF d’importance systémique. De plus, la FINMA a supervisé un nombre important de procédures de liquidation et d’insolvabilité.

Renforcement des maisons mères des grandes banques

En 2017, la FINMA a décidé qu’au niveau des maisons mères des grandes banques, les participations servant à déterminer les exigences relatives au capital going concern seraient désormais prises en compte sur la base d’une pondération-risque. La FINMA s’est fondée à cet effet sur l’art. 4 al. 3 LB. La modification correspondante de l’OFR est en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2019.

Réalisation du «resolvability assessment process» du CSF en 2018 et examen des remises

La FINMA a procédé au «resolvability assessment process» (RAP) annuel conformément aux prescriptions du CSF. Elle a informé le CSF de l’état d’avancement, à fin 2017, des deux grandes banques quant à leur capacité d’assainissement et de liquidation et aux obstacles résiduels. Tant l’évaluation réalisée au sein du crisis management college que la comparaison croisée du CSF dressent un tableau positif des progrès accomplis. La FINMA a par ailleurs examiné la capacité d’assainissement et de liquidation des deux groupes financiers selon les critères de l’ordonnance sur les banques (OB) pour juger de l’octroi de remises sur les fonds supplémentaires destinés à absorber les pertes (capital gone concern). En particulier, la FINMA a accordé une remise supplémentaire pour la mise en place d’une structure internationale de société de services séparée des activités bancaires. Fin 2018, les deux grandes banques ont ainsi épuisé 40 % de leur potentiel de remise. Elles mettront en place d’autres mesures pour améliorer leur capacité d’assainissement et de liquidation au cours des prochaines années. La FINMA réexaminera sur une base annuelle l’octroi éventuel de remises supplémentaires.

Planification d’urgence des banques d’importance systémique

En 2018, les plans d’urgence des deux grandes banques ont été perfectionnés et opérationnalisés dans plusieurs domaines. Afin de mettre en place un plan d’urgence praticable d’ici l’échéance fixée à fin 2019, les deux grandes banques ont encore des efforts considérables à fournir, notamment en ce qui concerne la réduction des interdépendances financières au sein du groupe et les mesures visant à pallier le manque de liquidités en cas de crise.

Les trois banques d’importance systémique à l’échelle nationale, quant à elles, se heurtent toujours à certains obstacles : l’adéquation encore lacunaire des plans d’urgence avec les exigences devant entrer en vigueur au 1er janvier 2019 concernant le capital gone concern ainsi que les stratégies d’assainissement et de liquidation praticables qui en découlent. Pour les trois banques, la FINMA a donc dû prolonger le délai de soumission d’un plan d’urgence praticable.

Coopération internationale en matière de stabilisation, d’assainissement et de liquidation

En tant qu’autorité de surveillance de l’Etat du siège de deux banques d’importance systémique à l’échelle mondiale, la FINMA est responsable, en cas de crise, de la coordination de l’assainissement ou de la liquidation transfrontière de ces banques avec les autorités de surveillance étrangères faisant partie du CMG. L’objectif majeur est d’éviter toute conséquence négative pour le système financier national ou international ainsi que pour les économies concernées sans devoir recourir à l’aide de l’Etat. La FINMA organise trois rencontres par an – deux colleges et un atelier – avec les autorités de surveillance étrangères compétentes afin de créer avec elles les conditions nécessaires à une coopération internationale efficace en cas de crise.

Les attributions de la FINMA en matière de recovery et de resolution

L’activité de la FINMA en matière de stabilisation, d’assainissement et de liquidation recouvre toutes les phases impliquées dans une crise, de la prévention à la liquidation – lorsqu’aucun redressement n’est envisageable – en passant par l’intervention dans les cas les plus critiques.


Zuständigkeiten

 

(Extraits du rapport annuel 2018 / 2017)