Legal and Compliance Officer programme

The Legal and Compliance Officer programme lasts three years and provides an insight into various specialist areas at FINMA. Participants can expect challenging duties at the pulse of the financial world.

The Legal and Compliance Officer programme is broadly based and targets very well-qualified lawyers looking to raise their profile as generalists in financial market law. Participants in the three-year programme change specialist area within FINMA annually. This allows them to deepen their knowledge in the respective areas. As a permanent employee, you work at the interface between law and business and gain a deep insight into the Swiss finance industry.

FINMA offers two different programmes:

  • Asset management/Markets (anti-money laundering and financial market infrastructures)
  • Asset management/Banks/Enforcement.

Programme participants represent the financial market regulator on the front line, take responsibility and help shape the way in which FINMA carries out its supervisory activities.

Depending on the programme chosen, they deal with business in institutional asset management, combating money laundering and financial crime, trading venues and post-trading, and investigating authorised and unauthorised activities. Or they license institutions such as securities dealers, fund management companies, asset managers and depositories, authorise collective investment schemes and work on bank licensing, legislative amendments and other regulatory projects.

Programm Legal and Compliance Officer

Das Programm «Legal and Compliance Officer» gibt während drei Jahren einen Einblick in verschiedene Fachgebiete der FINMA. Auf die Teilnehmenden warten herausfordernde Aufgaben am Puls der Finanzwelt.

Das breit angelegte Programm «Legal and Compliance Officer» spricht sehr gut ausgebildete Juristinnen und Juristen an, die ihr Profil als Generalisten des Finanzmarktrechts schärfen wollen. In diesem dreijährigen Programm wechseln die Teilnehmenden jährlich das Fachgebiet innerhalb der FINMA. Sie vertiefen so «on the job» ihre Kenntnisse im jeweiligen Bereich. Als Festangestellte arbeiten sie an der Schnittstelle von Recht und Wirtschaft und gewinnen einen tiefen Einblick in die Schweizer Finanzbranche.

Die FINMA bietet zwei verschiedene Programme an:

  • Asset Management/Märkte (Geldwäschereibekämpfung und Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen)
  • Asset Management/Banken/Enforcement

Die Programmteilnehmenden vertreten die Finanzmarktaufsicht an vorderster Front, übernehmen Verantwortung und gestalten die Praxis der Aufsichtsbehörde mit.
Je nach Wahl des Programms behandeln sie die Geschäfte im Bereich der institutionellen Vermögensverwaltung, der Bekämpfung von Geldwäscherei und Finanzkriminalität, der Handelsplätze wie auch im Nachhandelsbereich sowie im Bereich der Abklärungen von unerlaubten und bewilligten Tätigkeiten. Oder sie bewilligen Institute wie Effektenhändler, Fondsleitungen, Asset Manager oder Depotbanken, genehmigen kollektive Kapitalanlagen und wirken bei Bewilligungen von Banken oder bei Gesetzesrevisionen oder anderen regulatorischen Projekten mit.