Enforcement > International sanctions > Sanctions (embargos) print

Sanctions (embargos)

In Switzerland, the legal basis for the enforcement and implementation of international sanctions against certain states is the Federal Act on the Implementation of International Sanctions (Embargo Act). The Embargo Act is a framework law that governs generally applicable matters (purpose, scope of authority, duty of disclosure, supervision, data protection, administrative and legal assistance, legal protection, criminal provisions). Specific compulsory measures are enacted in separate ordinances based on this Act.

These ordinances on sanctions are enacted by the Federal Council and implemented by the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO). The names of individuals, legal entities, groups and companies affected are given in the annexes to the relevant ordinance. These annexes are updated continuously. The News Service platform enables FINMA to inform the financial intermediaries concerned about any changes in financial sanctions. Please use this link to sign up for FINMA's News Service and subscribe to "international sanctions".

Countries affected by SECO sanctions (in German)
FINMA News on sanctions (embargos)